Where have you been?!?!

So, I actually hate it when bloggers have a steady rate of posts and then disappear out of nowhere. I always check the blog multiple times for a few days, get angry, check back once a day, then totally abandon them thinking they will never return. Then one random day I remember that great blog and I check back. Nothing, and I get angry. But sometimes, just sometimes there is a new post explaining how life just got in the way. This is my post.

I could tell you all the things that happened, but I will just sum it up. Law school exams, broken fridge for a week, vacation, and moving. Ahhh… moving. I now have the greatest kitchen! Big, clean, ready for some cooking! Hopefully I can keep up with it this time!

A few posts back I wrote about garlic, cinnamon chicken and said that I would probably eat it a million times it was so good. Well, I didn’t. But, I have made this recipe three times since I made it the first time. Its that good.

Bean Burgers

jessicaandjames 032

Ingredients

1 16oz can of drained chickpeas

1/2 an onion chopped

1/2 cup of rolled oats

2 tablespoons chili powder

salt and pepper

a little bit of olive oil

Buns

Toppings (onions, tomatoes, lettuce, ketchup, cheese, mushrooms)

jessicaandjames 029

1. Add, in a food processor, the chickpeas, onion rolled oats, chili powder, salt and pepper and the olive oil.

2. Blend and then let sit for 5 min.

3. Begin forming the mixture into patties. If they are too sticky you could add more oats. If it is too dry you should add more oil or some of the juice from the beans.

4. Place on parchment paper and let stand for 5min.

5. Place oil in a pan and place the patties in the pan. Heat on each side until browned.

6. If you want cheese on them you should put it on towards the end.

Enjoy!

jessicaandjames 030

Tips and Tricks:

1. The thinner you make these patties the crispier they turn out. The thicker you make the patties the more moist they are. I think they taste better crispy.

2. These are good with ketchup and normal burger toppings, but you could also put salsa and it would be great.

I hope to keep this blog running so keep checking by for new posts! Thanks, Jessica

Leave a Reply

