Oatmeal

oatmeal 003

When I was younger, I did not like oatmeal. Now don’t get me wrong, my mom used to buy the flavored kind which is essentially a packet of sugar and I loved them. I remember I always liked the blueberry, and I was lucky because everyone loved peach! My beef with oatmeal was the lack of substance it gave me. I always needed two packets not one, and I would always look at the box and think that I would rather have eggs or a bagel or pancakes.

When I got into college and started worrying about my health I learned about the benefits of oatmeal in the morning, but I was concerned about the sugar packets which weighed in at something near 100 calories a pack… for nothing. After reading so many blogs who start their day with oatmeal I decided to try the real thing… and… I loved it. Stove cooked oatmeal was hearty, creamy, a little chewy and I could add essentially anything (I’ll get to this).

Without further ado, here is a quick recipe for oatmeal that will change your breakfast and quite possibly your life!

Ingredients

Water

Pinch of salt

1 cup rolled oats(NOT instant)

Optional Ingredients (not exhaustive)

Butter

Maple syrup, sugar, or honey

brown sugar

Raisins, dried fruit, fresh fruit

any type of nuts

cinnamon

1. Put 2-1/4 cups water in a medium saucepan with the salt and oats with high heat. When the water boils, turn to low heat and stir frequently until the water is mostly absorbed (about 5 min). Stir in the butter if you use it, cover with the pan and remove from heat.

oatmeal 001

2. After five minutes uncover and add a splash of milk and any of the toppings you chose.

oatmeal 002

Enjoy!

oatmeal 004

Tips and Tricks

1. I have tried fresh fruit in oatmeal plenty of times, but I find that I don’t like the way the fruit tastes with the oatmeal. Instead I really like dried fruit and nuts.

2. I always put maple syrup in the oatmeal and brown sugar, they are both healthier then regular sugar and add a good sweetness.

3. You can also bake cinnamon sugar apples the night before (maybe in a dessert!) and then you can put them in your oatmeal.

4. If you want thicker oatmeal use less water.

— From How to Cook Everything – and my own experience

Leave a Reply

