Pineapple Upside-down Cake

This past week I went to the Cape to visit my aunt. Last summer while visiting I made it my goal to try as many of the bakeries as I could. Naturally I asked for suggestions on the best bakery in town and was told Connie’s was the best, I was not let down.

Connie’s is a little, small, tiny, teeny-tiny bakery. The bakery is so small, it is essentially the cooking space, a register, and little stands with the goods. The blueberry, peach crostata caught my eye and it was…. AMAZING! A crostata is similar to a tart with a dough outside and a sweet fruity filling. (here is a picture from of one)

3720361245_f775d80242

The crostata from Connie’s was just sweet enough, the crust was crunchy on the outside and sweet and fluffy on the inside. The blueberries were sweet with a little tart and the peaches tasted so fresh. When I came home from that trip I raved about the crostata to my boyfriend, so much so that when we visited the cape this week when I told him I wanted to go to Connie’s he said “yea I wanna try this thing you keep talking about.” (we went twice in a 3 day vacation.) (www.conniesbakery.com)

The first time we went we did get the crostata and it was just as delicious as before. The bf even liked it though he doesn’t generally prefer sweets. The second time though, Connie had out individual sized pineapple upside down cakes. They looked so cute and delicious, but she also had an apple tea cake that was calling my name. So, my aunt got the pineapple cake and I took the tea cake. I wont say I regret my decision, but I could not stop thinking about those little golden pineapple cakes all week. Hence, the reason for this post.

The pineapple upside down cake recipe I used was from Better Homes and Gardens New CookBook (BHG). Here we go:

Ingredients

2 tblsp butter

1/3 cup packed brown sugar

1 8-ounce can pineapple slices

maraschino cherries

1-1/3 cups all purpose flour

2/3 cup granulated sugar

2tsp baking powder

2/3 cup milk

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 egg

1tsp vanilla

1. Melt the 2tblsp butter in a 9X1.5in round cake pan (I used my dutch oven pot for this). Stir in brown sugar and 1tblsp water. Arrange pineapple slices and cherries in the pan. Set aside.

2. In a bowl stir together the flour, sugar, and baking powder. Add the milk, the butter, egg, and vanilla. Beat with an electric mixer on low speed. (I used a whisk and it worked fine). Spoon batter over fruit in the prepared pan.

3. Bake in a 350degree oven for 30-35min or until toothpick inserted comes out clean. Cool for 5min. Loosen cake from pan; invert to a plate.

james and jessica 011

This cake was delicious. We didn’t, but I think it would be great served with cool vanilla ice cream. Next time I make this, I want to put some cinnamon in the cake batter to add a little more dimension and I would like to use fresh pineapple. I would also like to try chopping up some pineapple or cherries and putting them in the batter. (the pineapple is my favorite part). And, of course I would love to make these in single serving sizes!

james and jessica 014

Tips and tricks:

1. If you spoon the batter on instead of just pouring it over you will keep the shape of the pineapples!

2. Make sure you measure exactly the dry ingredients. Usually I overfill the cup and then I run the knife across the top putting the goods back into their bag/container.

3. If your brown sugar has gone hard (like mine was) put it in a bowl and microwave it for 5-10 second intervals. After each time try to break it apart, when it is ready it will crumble in your fingers. Be VERY VERY careful as hot sugar burns and DO NOT put this in anything plastic as it will burn and then burn you.

(Here I am loosening the cake getting ready to flip)james and jessica 008

Hope you Enjoy!

-J.

Leave a Reply

